Skip to content
sudopicks
esc

SKE UPS Battery Backup 1500VA/900W -SK1500 vs UPS ERA PLUS 800

Researched, not hands-on tested.How we review ›

both judged against UPS units at a similar price

The SKE UPS Battery Backup 1500VA/900W -SK1500 scores 4.9/10 overall, ahead of the UPS ERA PLUS 800 at 3.9/10.

The SKE UPS Battery Backup 1500VA/900W -SK1500 leads on NAS and server integration, capacity and runtime and battery.

The UPS ERA PLUS 800 leads on topology and waveform and UK outlets and build.

The biggest difference is runtime and battery, where the SKE UPS Battery Backup 1500VA/900W -SK1500 scores 7/10 to the UPS ERA PLUS 800's 4/10.

SKE UPS Battery Backup 1500VA/900W -SK1500

SKE UPS Battery Backup 1500VA/900W -SK1500

4.9/10verdict: skip

The SKE SK1500 is a 1500VA / 900W rated battery backup for buyers who want a lot of rated capacity and an LCD showing voltage and load. It suits someone protecting a small NAS, router and switch who will check the voltage and outlet details before buying. It is a weaker fit for anyone who needs confirmed USB shutdown signalling or a clearly stated pure sine output.

Typically about £140.99 in the UK when we researched itCheck price at Amazon UK (opens in a new tab, affiliate link)

Affiliate link. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details

UPS ERA PLUS 800

3.9/10verdict: skip

The ERA PLUS 800 suits someone who wants basic battery backup for a small, simple load with UK plugs. It is not aimed at servers, workstations or anything with an active PFC power supply. Buyers who need automatic NAS shutdown should check the interface question before ordering.

Typically about £59 in the UK when we researched itCheck price at Amazon UK (opens in a new tab, affiliate link)

Affiliate link. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Scores, criterion by criterion

CriterionWeightSKE UPS Battery Backup 1500VA/900W -SK1500UPS ERA PLUS 800
Topology and waveform25%4/105/10
NAS and server integration25%3/101/10
Capacity20%8/106/10
Runtime and battery15%7/104/10
UK outlets and build15%3/104/10
Overall4.9/103.9/10

Specifications

SpecSKE UPS Battery Backup 1500VA/900W -SK1500UPS ERA PLUS 800
Capacity (VA / W)1500VA / 900W rated800 VA / 560 W (max computer power application 560 W; datasheet output table also shows 240 W active power, conflicting)
Topologynot listedLine interactive with stabiliser (AVR)
Output waveformSimulated sine wave in battery mode (third-party, GP1500 related model)Modified sinewave
Outlets8 outlets per manufacturer product page (6 battery-backed plus surge, 2 surge-only, 3.0 column); 2.0 variant shows 4 battery-backed plus 4 surge-only; sources conflict2 UK-type outputs; 2 with blackout and child protection, one also with overvoltage protection; BS1363 input cable
Runtime at half load40W = 3 hrs; 80W = 90 mins; 180W = 35 mins; 260W = 22 mins; 360W = 8 mins10-40 min typical backup time (load not stated)
USB / network managementLCD and alarm, plus UPS management software; no USB HID or network port named by manufacturerNo USB or network interface on the UK 800 datasheet (interface listed as "-")
Battery2 × 12V 9Ah lead-acid (24V, 9AH×2)12V 7Ah sealed lead-acid, maintenance free

Strengths and weaknesses

SKE UPS Battery Backup 1500VA/900W -SK1500

  • + 900W rating leaves wide headroom over a 100-150W load
  • + Listed 90 minutes at 80W and 35 minutes at 180W
  • + LCD shows input and output voltage and load
  • − No USB HID or network port named by manufacturer
  • − Topology not stated; simulated sine wave in battery mode
  • − Input voltage and outlet details conflict between sources

Skip it if:

  • Buyers who need confirmed USB HID support for automatic NAS or server shutdown
  • Buyers who want a stated pure sine or online double-conversion output
  • Buyers who can't confirm the 230V input and UK socket type before purchase
Read the full SKE UPS Battery Backup 1500VA/900W -SK1500 review ›

UPS ERA PLUS 800

  • + Line-interactive with AVR and 2 ms typical transfer time
  • + Owners praise easy installation and quiet operation
  • + Noise listed below 40 dBA at 1 m
  • − UK datasheet lists no USB or network interface
  • − Modified sinewave; not suitable for active PFC supplies
  • − Only two outputs; capacity figures conflict on the datasheet

Skip it if:

  • Buyers who need USB or network monitoring for automatic NAS or server shutdown
  • Anyone protecting servers, workstations, gaming PCs or other active PFC power supplies
  • Users who need more than two outlets or long runtime on heavier loads
Read the full UPS ERA PLUS 800 review ›

More comparisons

Compare all UPS units · Best UPS units