Skip to content
sudopicks
esc

Firewalla Gold Plus vs Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra)

Researched, not hands-on tested.How we review ›

all judged against firewalls at a similar price

The Firewalla Gold Plus scores 6.8/10 overall, ahead of the Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra) at 6.6/10.

The Firewalla Gold Plus leads on throughput and ports and networking.

The Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra) leads on software and features.

They score the same on security record and running costs.

Firewalla Gold Plus

Firewalla Gold Plus

6.8/10verdict: buy

The Firewalla Gold Plus is for buyers who want a dedicated firewall with four 2.5GbE ports and IDS/IPS. It suits people who are happy to run Firewalla's own Linux-based OS. It is a poor match for anyone who needs built-in Wi-Fi, SFP+ or a low upfront cost.

Search Amazon UK (opens in a new tab, affiliate link)

Affiliate link. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra)

Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra)

6.6/10verdict: good, not the best

The Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra suits home, homelab and small-office networks that already use or plan to use UniFi. It lists 1 Gbps of IDS/IPS throughput, so it matches a gigabit line with inspection switched on. Buyers who need SFP+, several multi-gig LAN ports or a published firewall throughput figure should look at the details first.

Typically about £99.96 in the UK when we researched itSearch Amazon UK (opens in a new tab, affiliate link)

Affiliate link. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Scores, criterion by criterion

CriterionWeightFirewalla Gold PlusUbiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra)
Throughput25%8/107/10
Ports and networking20%7/106/10
Software and features20%6/107/10
Security record20%5/105/10
Running costs15%8/108/10
Overall6.8/106.6/10

Specifications

SpecFirewalla Gold PlusUbiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra)
Firewall / IPS throughput5 Gbit software packet processingnot listed
Ports4 x 2.5 Gbit RJ45 plus a console port; no SFP+1x 2.5GbE RJ45 WAN, 4x GbE RJ45 LAN, no SFP+ port
SoftwareFirewalla's own Linux-based OSUniFi Network
VPN throughputWireGuard 500 Mbps; OpenVPN 120 Mbpsnot listed
ProcessorQuad-core 64-bit Intel CPUQuad-core ARM Cortex-A53 at 1.5 GHz
Memory4 GB DDR RAM, 32 GB storage3 GB system memory, 16 GB on-board storage
Subscriptions neededNo subscription needed for core features; optional MSP web interface costs $40 per yearNo required subscription appears in sources; CyberSecure paid status not stated

Strengths and weaknesses

Firewalla Gold Plus

  • + Four 2.5GbE ports and 5 Gbit packet processing
  • + No subscription needed for core features
  • + Passive cooling and low power use, per owners
  • − No Wi-Fi included
  • − No SFP+ port
  • − Owners call it expensive once UK import fees and VAT apply

Skip it if:

  • Buyers who want to run a firewall OS other than Firewalla's own
  • Anyone who needs SFP+ or built-in Wi-Fi
  • Shoppers on a tight budget, given owner complaints about UK pricing
Read the full Firewalla Gold Plus review ›

Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra)

  • + Lists 1 Gbps IDS/IPS throughput
  • + WireGuard as both VPN server and client
  • + Maximum power draw of 6.2 W
  • − No SFP+ port; LAN ports are all gigabit
  • − Firewall throughput figure not published
  • − CyberSecure paid status not stated

Skip it if:

  • Buyers who need SFP+ or multi-gig LAN ports on the gateway
  • Anyone running IPS on a line faster than 1 Gbps
  • Buyers who need a published firewall throughput figure before purchase
Read the full Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra) review ›

More comparisons

Compare all firewalls · Best firewalls