Skip to content
sudopicks
esc

Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra)

No live price yet
Search Amazon UK (opens in a new tab, affiliate link)

Affiliate link. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra) review

Researched, not hands-on tested.How we review ›

by SudoPicks Research · published 24 Oct 2026 · updated 24 Oct 2026

Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra (UCG-Ultra)
6.6out of 10verdict: good, not the best

The Ubiquiti Cloud Gateway Ultra suits home, homelab and small-office networks that already use or plan to use UniFi. It lists 1 Gbps of IDS/IPS throughput, so it matches a gigabit line with inspection switched on.

5th of 8 firewalls we've reviewed
#5 in firewalls (2026)No live price yetSearch Amazon UK (opens in a new tab, affiliate link)

Affiliate link. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Running it 24/7 at idle

£10.38 a year

How that compares ↓

Get a price-drop alert

Leave the price blank to hear about new 90-day lows. One email at most each week.

New to firewalls? What they are and what to look for

A firewall is a box that sits between your internet connection and your network and controls what traffic can come in and out. Most home routers already include a simple one.

Do you need a firewall? Most homes don't need a separate firewall. It's for people who run services from home, want to separate smart-home devices from their computers, or want detailed control and logs.

What to look for

  • Enough speed for your broadband with security features switched on
  • Whether core features need a paid subscription
  • A good record of security updates

Unsure about a word? Jargon explained

How the 6.6 adds up

Our firewalls rubric
  • 7Throughput25% of score
  • 6Ports and networking20% of score
  • 7Software and features20% of score
  • 5Security record20% of score
  • 8Running costs15% of score

Against the 8 firewalls we've reviewed

bar = the range of all 8 · dot = this one · better →

  • Overall score 6.6/105th of 8
  • Price £99.96cheapest
  • Value for money Best value herebest of 7

Power use and running costs

Running 24/7 at idle, at 26.32p per kWh (the Ofgem price cap).

Idle power
4.5 W
measured
Electricity per year
£10.38
39 kWh
3 years, all in
£131.09
£99.96 to buy + £31.13 to run
Against the others
1st of 6
1st = lowest idle power
Idle power, lowest firstwatts · per year

Dashed bars use the maker's figure; solid bars were measured by reviewers or owners.

3-year cost: price + electricitypriceelectricity

Today's best price, or the typical price when researched. Drives and accessories not included.

Not shown, as no idle figure is published: Ubiquiti UniFi Cloud Gateway Max, Firewalla Gold Plus.

Running costs and support

Software updates
  • WireGuard VPN
  • Intrusion prevention
  • 2.5GbE

Security and compatibility

Latest firmware or softwareSeptember 2026updated in the last year source
Known security issues
  • CVE-2026-34910 (2026): A command injection flaw rated CVSS 10.0 could let an attacker run commands on the device. fixed
  • CVE-2026-34908 (2026): Rated CVSS 10.0 in the same batch as CVE-2026-34910. fixed
  • CVE-2026-34909 (2026): Rated CVSS 10.0 in the same batch as CVE-2026-34910. fixed
  • CVE-2026-47367 (2026): Rated CVSS 9.9 in Bulletin 065. fixed
  • CVE-2026-55116 (2026): Rated CVSS 9.0 in a government advisory. fixed
Update recordUbiquiti has shipped several security fixes for this device, with firmware 5.1.19 or later covering the advisories found, though fix status for CVE-2026-47368 to CVE-2026-47370 is unconfirmed.

Pros and cons

+ pros

  • Lists 1 Gbps IDS/IPS throughput
  • WireGuard as both VPN server and client
  • Maximum power draw of 6.2 W

− cons

  • No SFP+ port; LAN ports are all gigabit
  • Firewall throughput figure not published
  • CyberSecure paid status not stated

Price history

Price history appears here once we have tracked this product for a few days.

The full review

Where it fits

The UCG-Ultra is a gateway that runs UniFi Network. Ubiquiti lists support for 30+ UniFi devices and 300+ clients. With that ceiling, it suits a home lab, a flat or a small office better than a large site.

Throughput7/10

Ubiquiti lists IDS/IPS throughput at 1 Gbps. It doesn't publish a firewall throughput figure, so there is no stated number for routing and firewalling with inspection off. The hardware is a quad-core ARM Cortex-A53 at 1.5 GHz, with 3 GB of system memory and 16 GB of on-board storage.

On paper, the 1 Gbps IPS rating matches a UK gigabit line with inspection on. The WAN port is 2.5GbE, but the IDS/IPS figure stays at 1 Gbps, so a line faster than gigabit isn't covered by that rating. If you plan to run IPS on a multi-gig connection, this listed figure is the limit to plan around.

Ports and networking6/10

The gateway has one 2.5GbE RJ45 WAN port and four GbE RJ45 LAN ports. There is no SFP+ port. Every LAN port is gigabit, so a fibre uplink or a multi-gig LAN link would need other hardware in the chain. The MAC address table holds 2,000 entries, which fits the stated 300+ client figure.

The sources don't mention VLAN support in the specification. If you segment your network, confirm that before buying.

Software and features7/10

The software is UniFi Network, Ubiquiti's own management application. It supports WireGuard as both VPN server and client. IDS/IPS is part of the listed throughput figures, so inspection is a built-in feature rather than an add-on box. Reporting details aren't covered in the sources.

One point is unclear. The sources show no required subscription, but they don't say whether CyberSecure is a paid service. Check what CyberSecure includes before you rely on it for threat protection.

Security record5/10

The research on security history is thin. A single third-party source reports CVE-2026-54405, scored CVSS 7.5, patched in UniFi Network 10.4.57 or later. Because only one source reports it, treat it as a prompt to check Ubiquiti's own advisories rather than a settled record. Firmware update frequency and fix times aren't stated, so this review can't judge how quickly Ubiquiti responds.

In practice, this means keeping UniFi Network up to date and confirming you run a patched version.

Running costs8/10

Maximum power consumption is 6.2 W. That is a ceiling rather than an idle figure, and the idle draw isn't given here. No required subscription appears in the sources, so the core routing, firewall and VPN functions don't show a recurring fee. The CyberSecure question above is the one gap.

Who it suits

It suits buyers who want a UniFi-managed gateway with a 1 Gbps IDS/IPS rating and WireGuard, with a listed maximum draw of 6.2 W. With a 2.5GbE WAN port and four GbE LAN ports, it matches a gigabit-based network well. Buyers who need SFP+, several multi-gig LAN ports or a published firewall throughput should look at other gateways.

Who should skip it
  • Buyers who need SFP+ or multi-gig LAN ports on the gateway
  • Anyone running IPS on a line faster than 1 Gbps
  • Buyers who need a published firewall throughput figure before purchase
Full specifications
Ports1x 2.5GbE RJ45 WAN, 4x GbE RJ45 LAN, no SFP+ port
SoftwareUniFi Network
ProcessorQuad-core ARM Cortex-A53 at 1.5 GHz
Memory3 GB system memory, 16 GB on-board storage
Subscriptions neededNo required subscription appears in sources; CyberSecure paid status not stated
Sources

Alternatives

Compare head to head