Skip to content
sudopicks
esc

Tecnoware ERA PLUS 1200 UK (FGCERAPL1202UK)

~£82.84typical UK price when we researched it
Check price at Amazon UK (opens in a new tab, affiliate link)

Affiliate link. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Tecnoware ERA PLUS 1200 UK (FGCERAPL1202UK) review

Researched, not hands-on tested.How we review ›

by SudoPicks Research · published 24 Oct 2026 · updated 24 Oct 2026

Tecnoware ERA PLUS 1200 UK (FGCERAPL1202UK)
4.9out of 10verdict: skip

The Tecnoware ERA PLUS 1200 UK is for people who want a small line-interactive UPS with UK sockets to cover a few devices. It suits a small, simple load where a short ride-through and basic mains regulation are the goal.

joint 12th of 15 UPS units we've reviewed
#12 in UPS units (2026)~£82.84typical UK price when we researched itCheck price at Amazon UK (opens in a new tab, affiliate link)

Affiliate link. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Get a price-drop alert

Leave the price blank to hear about new 90-day lows. One email at most each week.

New to UPS units? What they are and what to look for

A UPS (uninterruptible power supply) is a battery box that keeps your equipment running for a few minutes during a power cut and protects it from surges.

Do you need a UPS? Worth it for a NAS, home server or router, so a power cut doesn't corrupt files or drop your connection. Not needed for laptops, which have their own battery.

What to look for

  • Enough watts for everything you'll plug in, plus some spare
  • A USB connection so your NAS can shut down safely
  • Pure sine wave output for sensitive equipment

Unsure about a word? Jargon explained

How the 4.9 adds up

Our UPS units rubric
  • 7Capacity20% of score
  • 5Topology and waveform25% of score
  • 3NAS and server integration25% of score
  • 5Runtime and battery15% of score
  • 5UK outlets and build15% of score

Against the 15 UPS units we've reviewed

bar = the range of all 15 · dot = this one · better →

  • Overall score 4.9/10joint 12th of 15
  • Price £82.844th cheapest
  • Value for money Better value than most5th best of 15

Support and features

Software updatesNo end-of-support date announced; Amazon listings show guaranteed software updates until unknown source

Security and compatibility

Latest firmware or softwareNo release date found
Known security issuesNone found in public advisories. That's a good sign, not a guarantee.
Update recordNo firmware release date or security advisories were found for this model, and the notes say search coverage was limited.
LinuxNot confirmed. Retail listings claim Linux compatibility, and NUT lists only the 1100 model, but no maker documentation or 1200 UK-specific report confirms Linux support. source

Pros and cons

+ pros

  • 840 W active power rating on a 1200 VA unit
  • Replaceable 12V 9Ah sealed lead-acid battery
  • Owners describe it as reliable and quiet

− cons

  • Modified sinewave output
  • NAS and NUT compatibility not published; owners report USB recognition problems
  • Only two UK outlets

Price history

Price history appears here once we have tracked this product for a few days.

The full review

Where it fits

The ERA PLUS 1200 UK is a line-interactive UPS with automatic voltage regulation (AVR). It has two UK outlets and a fixed UK BS13 input cable. With two sockets, it suits a short list of devices rather than a full rack. The footprint is small, at 10.1 x 14.2 x 27.9 cm and 4.5 kg per the manufacturer datasheet. Noise is listed as under 40 dBA at 1 m.

Capacity and the conflicting figure7/10

Tecnoware lists the unit at 1200 VA nominal with 840 W active power. The datasheet also shows a 360 W figure that conflicts with that.

The gap between the two figures is large, so it matters for how much you plan to connect. The two-outlet layout also limits how many devices you can plug in, whichever figure is right.

Topology and waveform5/10

The topology is line interactive with a stabiliser (AVR). The output waveform is a modified sinewave, not a pure sine. That matters for your equipment choice. Tecnoware says the unit is not recommended for active-PFC power supplies, and it names servers and workstations as examples. If your homelab runs machines like that, the manufacturer's own guidance points you away from this model.

Check the power supply type of your own equipment before buying.

USB and NAS integration3/10

The unit has one USB port and comes with TecnoManager software. The USB link reports mains failure and low battery to a computer, which is the basic signal needed to start a shutdown.

Tecnoware does not publish compatibility with Synology, QNAP, TrueNAS or NUT HID. Owner reports add to the doubt: the software is described as hard to use, and the UPS is reported as not recognised as a USB device on macOS or Windows. If automatic NAS shutdown is the reason you want a UPS, this gap is a significant risk, and you would need to verify support before relying on it.

Runtime and battery5/10

The manufacturer gives a typical runtime of 10-40 minutes and does not state the load behind that range. The spread is wide, so the figure says little about a specific setup. Treat it as a short window for a clean shutdown, not as long backup time.

The battery is a sealed, maintenance-free lead-acid 12V 9Ah unit, and it is listed as replaceable. That is useful over the life of the UPS, because a worn battery does not mean replacing the whole unit. Owners also report that the battery beep cannot be disabled, which may matter if the UPS sits in a quiet room.

Protection, build and warranty5/10

Surge protection comes from the AVR plus overvoltage and undervoltage protection on the outputs. No joule rating is published, so you cannot compare its surge absorption with other units on that measure. The enclosure carries an IP20 rating, which fits indoor use.

One UK retailer lists a 5 year warranty.

What owners say

Owner feedback splits in two. Some describe the unit as reliable and quiet in use, which fits the under 40 dBA noise rating. Others report software and USB problems: the software is hard to use, and the UPS is not recognised as a USB device on macOS or Windows.

Who it suits

The hardware suits a small, simple load where a line-interactive UPS with AVR, UK sockets and a replaceable battery is enough. The modified sinewave output, the lack of published NAS and NUT support and the owner reports of USB recognition problems make it a poor match for servers, workstations or any setup that depends on automatic shutdown.

What owners report

Recurring themes from public owner feedback, summarised in our own words.

  • The bundled software is hard to use and the UPS is not recognised as a USB device on macOS or Windows.
  • The battery beep cannot be disabled.
  • Owners describe the unit as reliable and quiet in use.
Who should skip it
  • Anyone who needs documented Synology, QNAP, TrueNAS or NUT automatic shutdown support
  • Buyers powering servers or workstations with active-PFC power supplies
  • Anyone who needs more than two outlets or wants a pure sine output
Full specifications
Capacity (VA / W)1200 VA nominal; 840 W active power (datasheet also shows a conflicting 360 W figure)
TopologyLine interactive with stabiliser (AVR)
Output waveformModified sinewave
Outlets2 UK outlets plus one fixed UK BS13 input cable
Runtime at half load10-40 min typical (load not stated by manufacturer)
USB / network managementOne USB port; included TecnoManager software; USB reports mains failure and low battery to a computer
BatterySealed lead-acid, maintenance free, 12V 9Ah, replaceable
Sources

Alternatives

Compare head to head